Sofia Koubli


concept & video: Maria Korporal
music / sound design: Sofia Koubli

dedicated to the poetry of Daìta Martinez


“The forbidden fruit in paradise was not an apple – it was an orange. Peeled and tasted, it opened the universe of senses and it lit the fire of passion. Eva is born and is re-born from the bittersweet juice, again and again.”


The video is dedicated to the poetry of Daìta Martinez, with whom Maria Korporal has made the videopoems (amarezza), { naked } and the recent . non ha fine . “EVA” does not contain words by the Palermitan poet, but her poems have been an essential source of inspiration for the creation of the video.
The music / sound design of the video is by Greek composer Sofia Koubli. Since 1999 she composes music for theater, dance performances video art and short movies. She already collaborated with Maria Korporal in the videos “Avgerinos & Poulia” and “La circolarità della creazione”.

N.B. “EVA” has two versions:
1. a loop version of 4’44”
2. a version with start and end, 5’16” (the one which is visibile here on Vimeo)

The loop version has been projected continuously during the exhibition EroticaMENTE, Domus Talenti, Rome, from 14 to 23 April 2012:

Avgerinos & Poulia

Avgerinos & Poulia, a film by Maria Korporal with music by Sofia Koubli, is inspired on a Greek fairytale.
According to Greek tradition, the story developes itself from a red string which transforms continuously, appears, disappears and re-appears again, and leads the protagonists along the way of the tale – to grow finally into a constellation tree and give birth to the two luminous stars of brother and sister Avgerinos and Poulia.

title: Avgerinos & Poulia
technique: Experimental video and animation
length: 7’00”
year: 2011
video: Maria Korporal
music: Sofia Koubli –

La circolarità della creazione

“La circolarità della creazione”, un video di Maria Korporal con testi di Viviana Scarinci e musica di Sofia Koubli.

titolo: La circolarità della creazione
tecnica: Video e performance
durata: 7’53”
anno: 2011
video e performance: Maria Korporal
testi e recitazione: Viviana Scarinci –
musica: Sofia Koubli –